Tsinghua University Press and Springer award the Second Nano Research Award Professor Paul Alivisatos of University of California (UC) Berkeley receives the honor

Professor (Prof.) Paul Alivisatos, the Director of Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the  University of California (UC) Berkeley's Samsung Distinguished Professor of Nanoscience and  Nanotechnology, received the second Nano Research Award. Prof. Hongjie Dai (Editors-in-Chief  of Nano Research), Prof. Xiaogang Peng (Associate Editor of Nano Research), and Prof.  Xiangfeng Duan (Associate Editor of Nano Research), jointly presented the award medal to Prof.  Alivisatos, while Dr. Shuai Yan, the Director of Journal Publishing of Tsinghua University Press  and Dr. Lu Ye, the Managing Director and Editorial Director of Springer China presented the  award certification. The award is accompanied by a cash prize of US $10,000. The award  ceremony was held at the 2015 Sino-US Nano Forum, June 25-28, Wuhan, China.

Prof. Paul Alivisatos is an award-winning chemist and internationally recognized authority on the  fabrication of nanocrystals and their use in solar energy applications. His research breakthroughs  include the synthesis of size- and shape-controlled nanocrystals, and forefront studies of  nanocrystal properties, including optical, electrical, structural and thermodynamic. In his research,  he has demonstrated key applications of nanocrystals in biological imaging and renewable  energy. For his exceptional scientific accomplishments, Prof. Alivisatos has been awarded  prestigious Wolf Prize in Chemistry for 2012, elected as the member of the National Academy of  Sciences and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Nano Research is an international academic journal sponsored by Tsinghua University and the  Chinese Chemical Society. Its 2014 Impact Factor was 7.010. The Nano Research Award,  established by Nano Research along with Tsinghua University Press and Springer in 2013, is an  award for outstanding contributions to nano research by an individual scientist. The winner will be  determined by the Award Committee (Editors-in-Chief, Associate Editors, representatives from  Tsinghua University Press and Springer) after receiving nominations from the members of the  Editorial Board of Nano Research. Prof. Charles M. Lieber of Harvard University, one of the  worlds leading scientists in nanoscience and nanotechnology, received the first-time honor.