3rd Nano Research Award

Peidong Yang, the S.K. and Angela Chan Distinguished Professor of Energy and Professor of  Chemistry at the University of California, Berkeley and a faculty scientist at Lawrence Berkeley  National Laboratory, received the third Nano Research Award. Professors Hongjie Dai and  Yadong Li (Editors-in-Chief of Nano Research) jointly presented the award plaque to Peidong  Yang, while Dr. Yong Li, Chairman of the Board of Tsinghua University Press and Dr. Lu Ye,  Editorial Director (Physical Science and Engineering) at Springer Nature China presented the  award certificate. The award is accompanied by a cash prize of US $10,000. The award  ceremony was held during the 2016 Sino-US Symposium on Nanoscale Science and Technology  on June 20, in Nanjing, China.

Peidong Yang was selected for the award in recognition of his extraordinary contributions to  nanowire-related science and technology. Yang invented the first fully integrated system for the  production of value-added chemicals directly and solely from CO2, H2O and sunlight, which is  widely considered one of the major breakthroughs in the field of artificial photosynthesis. He  presented an invited keynote speech at the Sino-US Symposium on Nanoscale Science and  Technology with the title “CO2+ H2O + Sunlight → Chemical Fuels + O2”.

Nano Research is an international academic journal sponsored by Tsinghua University and the  Chinese Chemical Society, and is jointly published by Tsinghua University Press and Springer  Nature. Its 2015 Impact Factor, which was just released by Thomson Reuters, is 8.893. The  Nano Research Award, established by Nano Research along with Tsinghua University Press and  Springer in 2013, honors outstanding contributions to nano research by an individual scientist.  The winner is selected by the Award Committee (Editors-in-Chief, Associate Editors, and  representatives from Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature) after receiving nominations  from the members of the Editorial Board of Nano Research.

Professors Hongjie Dai and Peidong Yang were recently elected as new members of the National  Academy of Sciences (USA) in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in  original research.


Photo from left to right: Yadong Li, Yong Li, Peidong Yang, Hongjie Dai, Lu Ye

3rd Nano Research Award Press Release.pdf