Yi Xie receives the fourth Nano Research Award Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature honor one of the world’s leading scientists

The fourth Nano Research Award will be bestowed upon Yi Xie, one of the world’s leading experts in nanoscience and nanotechnology. This annual award, now being presented for the fourth time since 2013, is sponsored by Tsinghua University Press (TUP) and Springe Nature and is accompanied by US $10,000 in prize money. Prof. Xie has been invited to give a keynote speech at the 2017 Sino‐US Nano Forum in Beijing, China.

Yi Xie was selected for the award in recognition of her extraordinary contributions to inorganic solid state chemistry at the nanoscale, particularly in inorganic functional solids with modulated electron and phonon structures. Professor Xie has made groundbreaking advances in fundamental problems of unconventional semiconductors a few atoms thick, with promising applications in energy conversions.

Yi Xie is currently a Professor of Chemistry at the University of Science and Technology of China. She was selected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS), a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC), and a member of the World Academy of Sciences for the Advancement of Science in Developing Countries (TWAS). She is the recipient of many other awards including the L’Oreal‐UNESCO for Women in Science Awards, TWAS Prize in Chemistry, IUPAC Distinguished Women in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering Award, China Young Scientist Award and China Young Female Scientist Award.

The Nano Research Award, established by the journal Nano Research together with TUP and Springer in 2013, is awarded for outstanding contributions to nano research by an individual scientist. The winner is selected by the Award Committee (the Editors‐in‐Chief, Associate Editors, representatives from TUP and Springer Nature) after receiving nominations from the members of the Nano Research Editorial Board. Prof. Charles M. Lieber of Harvard University, Prof. Paul Alivisatos and Prof. Peidong Yang, both of the University of California (UC) Berkeley, were the first three recipients of the honor.

4th Nano Research Award Press Release_2017-3-7_final.pdf