Fifth Nano Research Award Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature Present the Fifth Nano Research Award

Lei Jiang, the professor at the Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences, and Chad A. Mirkin, the George B. Rathmann professor of chemistry at Northwestern University, received the fifth Nano Research Award. Professor Hongjie Dai (Editors- in-Chief of Nano Research), professors Xiaogang Peng, Jie Liu, Xiangfeng Duan and Zhen Gu (Associate Editor) jointly presented the award plaques to Lei Jiang and Chad A. Mirkin, while Dr. Junfeng Zong, the president of Tsinghua University Press and Dr. Arnout Jacobs, President of Springer Nature for Greater China presented the award certificates. The award is accompanied by a cash prize of US $10,000. The award ceremony was held during the 2018 13th Sino-US Forum on Nanoscale Science and Technology on July, 1 in Chengdu, China.


Lei Jiang was selected for the award in recognition of his significant contributions to bioinspired interfacial material systems with superwettability, particularly those aimed at building superwettability interfacial material systems. He was selected as a member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, a member of the Academy of Sciences for the developing world and a foreign member of the US National Academy of Engineering, and he has been recognized for his accomplishments with a Humboldt Research Award (Germany, 2017), a Nikkei Asia Prize (Japan, 2016), a MRS Mid-Career Researcher Award (USA, 2014), a National Natural Science Award (China, 2nd grade, 2005), and many other honors and awards. He is a part-time professor of Monash University (Australia), and a visiting professor of Drexel University (USA), Wollongong University (Australia), Peking University (China) and Jilin University (China).


Chad Mirkin has received this award because of his invention of dip-pen nanolithography and a suite of cantilever-free scanning probe lithography tools as well his invention and development of spherical nucleic acids and the many materials and devices that have resulted from them, which have improved lives and dramatically increased our scientific understanding and capabilities. He was recently elected a foreign member of the Chinese Academy of Sciences. In addition to being an elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, Mirkin is one of a select few living scientists who are members of all three US National Academies (Science, Engineering, and Medicine). Mirkin has been recognized for his accomplishments with over 120 national and international awards including the William H. Nichols Medal Award, theDickson Prize, The $500,000 MIT Lemelson Prize, the RUSNANOPRIZE, Israel’s Dan David Prize, the American Institute of Chemists Gold Medal, the Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in Convergence Research, the Linus Pauling Medal, and Austria’s Wilhelm Exner Medal.

Both winners presented invited keynote speech at the 13th Sino-US Forum on Nanoscale Science and Technology.

Nano Research is an international academic journal sponsored by Tsinghua University and the Chinese Chemical Society, and is jointly published by Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature. Its 2017 Impact Factor, which was just released by JCR, is 7.994. The Nano Research Award, established by Nano Research along with Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature in 2013, honors outstanding contributions to nano research by an individual scientist. The winner is selected by the Award Committee (Editors-in-Chief, Associate Editors, and representatives from Tsinghua University Press and Springer Nature) after receiving nominations from the members of the Editorial Board of Nano Research. Prof. Charles M. Lieber of Harvard University, Prof. Paul Alivisatos and Prof. Peidong Yang, both of the University of California (UC) Berkeley, Prof. Yi Xie of University of Science and Technology of China were the first four recipients of the award.


Photo from left to right: Jie Liu, Xiaogang Peng, Junfeng Zong, Lei Jiang, Chad A. Mirkin, Arnout Jacobs, Hongjie Dai, Xiangfeng Duan, Zhen Gu

5th Nano Research Award Press Release(1).pdf